Forums » Support

3 R's Question

• 5 posts
    October 11, 2012 9:46 AM PDT

So I am fully stuck on Resentment and Resistance in regards to my 18 year old stap daughter.  I have managed to not go into Revenge, but I am having trouble getting out of the other 2.

I realize that I cannot change her, only she can change, but her current course of behavior has my stuck in my 2R's and she is not inclined to change and her consistant reply is that I "just don't understand" but my request for her to talk and explain it to me is met with silence.

Aside from just letting everything she does that angers me and makes things more difficult for me, what steps can I take to get out of the 2R's?

I have tried reaching out and talking to her, but she puts up a wall. 

• October 13, 2012 8:08 PM PDT

Hi Robert- Nice to meet you. I am a PM instructor. Quick question. Have you been to ALS yet? If you have, I'll refer you to an ALS instructor, if not, I'd be happy to support you. Look forward to hearing from you. Tom

This post was edited by Deleted Member at October 13, 2012 8:12 PM PDT
    • 0 posts
    October 14, 2012 10:18 AM PDT

Hi Robert,

I just saw your posting and thought I'd share a response.  Because I'm am only seening your one sided view here I could be completely off base but here goes.

It seems to me that you both are in the 3R's.  It may seem it is all one sided from your point of view but there are always two points of view.  Have you made any attempt to see things as she might see them?  You know this stuff but emotion tends to put up walls for us, RESISTANCE/RESENTMENT.

The other notice in your writing is that you are NOT grounded and centered when you are in her space so likely you are getting pulled into that energy.  If you goal is to pursuade her to choose  differntly your energy must be one of drawing in versus repelling.